Past Winners

Polytrack Provincial-Midway Championships


Polytrack Provincial Championships

2021 Newcastle Polytrack Provincial Championships Qualifier

It was a local trifecta in the opening Polytrack Provincial Championships Qualifier and with his runaway win the Paul Perry-trained Pandano signalled he’s going to be one of the horses to beat come the Final. After sitting wide and on the speed the four-year-old sprinted sharply early in the straight when asked by Jess Taylor and won by a widening 2.6 lengths. Kris Lees filled the second and third placings with Cristal Breeze staying on for second while Animate ran into third early in the straight and managed to hold off a few closers to book his spot.

Race Record: 1:22.47 MAGIC OF DREAMS 2015


2021 Winner: Pandano
2nd Cristal Breeze
3rd Animate
Time/Track 1:23.99 (Soft 5)

2020 Winner: Oakfield Missile
2nd Stella Sea Sun
3rd Designated
Time/Track 1:23.10 (Good 4)

2019 Winner: Archedemus
2nd Oakfield Missile
3rd Oakfield Twilight
Time/Track 1:23.82 (Soft 6)

2018 Winner: Princess Posh
2nd Bon Amis
3rd Kool Vinnie
Time/Track 1:22.95 (Good 4)

2017 Winner: Clevedon Bay
2nd Calabasas
3rd Pacific Reign
Time/Track 1:22.04 (Good 4)

2016 Winner: Hetty Heights
2nd Marple Miss
3rd Electric Power
Time/Track 1:20.75 (Heavy 8)

2016 Qualifier held at Wyong after the Newcastle meeting was called off due to the state of the track.

2015 Winner: Magic Of Dreams
2nd Oxford Poet
3rd Slots
Time/Track 1:22.47 (Good)

2021 Hawkesbury Polytrack Provincial Championships Qualifier

Kembla Grange trainer Gwenda Markwell is no stranger to winning a Provincial Championships Qualifier and Gemmahra is the latest addition to her tally after a strong all the way win at Hawkesbury. After jumping from a wide alley jockey Winona Costin made a beeline for the front and while she didn’t have an easy time she was able to fight off all challengers. It was a big day for local trainer Claire Lever who provided the second and third placegetters via Diva Bella and Grace Bay to take her to the Royal Randwick final in her first year of training.

Race Record: 1:21.36 RUSTIC MELODY 2016


2021 Winner: Gemmahra
2nd Diva Bella
3rd Grace Bay
Time/Track 1:22.89 (Good 4)

2020 Winner: Moana Jewel
2nd Great Danger
3rd Munich
Time/Track 1:23.84 (Soft 7)

2019 Winner: Safado
2nd Spring Charlie
3rd It's So Obvious
Time/Track 1:22.29 (Good 4)

2018 Winner: Uptown Lad
2nd Plaisir
3rd Bastia
Time/Track 1:22.44 (Good 3)

2017 Winner: Shazee Lee
2nd Budderoo Knight
3rd Reiby Rampart
Time/Track 1:24.08 (Heavy 8)

2016 Winner: Rustic Melody
2nd Dream Lane
3rd By Golly Molly
Time/Track 1:21.36 (Good 4)

2015 Winner: Harmonic
2nd Electric Power
3rd Unequivocal
Time/Track 1:22.67 (Soft)

2021 Gosford Provincial Championships Qualifier

Wyong trainer Kim Waugh has recorded two second placings in the Polytrack Provincial Championships Final but she might be one step closer to a winner after Great News made a mess of her rivals at Gosford. The four-year-old mare was first-up, jumped from an outside alley and tracked wide through the race but still charged away to a dominant two length win for jockey Jay Ford. The leader Barossa Rosa, trained by Tracey Bartley, gave a big sight in front and did a good job to hold on for second while Nathan Doyle’s recent acquisition Electric Girl arrived in time for third to qualify for the Final for the second year running.

Race Record NEWCASTLE: 1:09.26 ASHARANI 2020


2021 Winner: Great News
2nd Barossa Rosa
3rd Electric Girl
Time/Track 1:10.60 (Good 4)

2020 Winner: Asharani
2nd Through The Cracks
3rd General Soho
Time/Track 1:09.26 (Good 4)

2019 Winner: Golden Tycoon
2nd Evalina
3rd Chalmers
Time/Track 1:10.27 (Good 4)

2018 Winner: Serene Miss
2nd Newsfan
3rd Can't Find Snippy
Time/Track 1:10.24 (Good 4)

2017 Winner: Pomelo
2nd Heavenly Anna
3rd Dream Lane
Time/Track 1:15.05 (Heavy 10)

2016 Winner: Zestful
2nd In Her Time
3rd Powerline
Time/Track 1:11.67 (Good 4)

2015 Winner: Powerline
2nd Jimmy Says Yes
3rd Supreme Effort
Time/Track 1:12.36 (Soft)

2021 Kembla Grange Polytrack Provincial Championships Qualifier

A three wide passage on the speed didn’t stop La Jolie Fille from providing trainer Paul Perry with a second qualifier in the Provincial Championships. The mare was headed early in the straight but despite drifting beyond the centre of the track she responded to riding from Jess Taylor and held the chasers at bay. Darleb ran into second to hand Kris Lees with his fifth qualifier for the 2021 series while the locally trained Liveinthefastlane, for Robert and Luke Price, made a dash at the 200m then held on for third.

Race Record: 1:21.89 ELECTRIC GIRL 2020


2021 Winner: La Jolie Fille
2nd Darleb
3rd Liveinthefastlane
Time/Track 1:22.32 (Good 3)

2020 Winner: Electric Girl
2nd McCormack
3rd Enchanted Heart
Time/Track 1:21.89 (Good 4)

2019 Winner: Miss Redoble
2nd Bye See
3rd Eugene's Pick (NZ)
Time/Track 1:24.37 (Heavy 9)

2018 Winner: Mandylion
2nd Old Man Sam
3rd Tawfiq Boy
Time/Track 1:24.86 (Heavy 8)

2017 Winner: Maryore
2nd Ziganui
3rd Virgilio
Time/Track 1:25.10 (Heavy 9)

2016 Winner: Unequivocal
2nd Danish Twist
3rd Parraay
Time/Track 1:24.86 (Soft 5)

2015 Winner: Darci Magic (NZ)
2nd O’Rielley’s Revenge (NZ)
3rd Parraay
Time/Track 1:23.20 (Good)

2021 Wyong Polytrack Provincial Championships Qualifier

*Run at Gosford over 1200m* Kris Lees has weight of numbers but it was a bold front-running display from Prince Aurelius defied them, at his first run in three months, and the Tyrone Coyle-trained galloper made it four on the trot. Jockey Robbie Brewer had no hesitation in taking up the running and despite wobbling around the turn he was never threatened. It was his first win below 1310m so there’ll be improvement to come when he gets to Randwick. Three of the Lees troupe chased him home with Zeftabrook and Loch Lomond earning their tickets into the Final.

Race Record NEWCASTLE: 1:19.00 ANIMATE 2020


2021 Winner: Prince Aurelius
2nd Zeftabrook
3rd Loch Lomond
Time/Track 1:11.53 (Soft 6)

2020 Winner: Animate
2nd Oxford Tycoon
3rd Oakfield Captain
Time/Track 1:19.00 (Soft 5)

2019 Winner: Turnberry
2nd Bobbing
3rd Bangkok
Time/Track 1:21.38 (Heavy 8)

2018 Winner: Just Dreaming
2nd Manhattan Mist
3rd Witches
Time/Track 1:18.60 (Good 4)

2017 Winner: Noble Joey
2nd Better Not Blue
3rd Princess Posh
Time/Track 1:19.37 (Good 3)

2016 Winner: Supreme Effort
2nd His Majesty (IRE)
3rd Better Not Blue
Time/Track 1:17.50 (Good 3)

2015 Winner: Sure And Fast
2nd Selectify
3rd Radical Impact
Time/Track 1:19.31 (Good)

2021 The Polytrack Provincial Championship Final – Royal Randwick

Cristal Breeze made it a third win for Newcastle trainer Kris Lees in the Polytrack Provincial Championships Final. It was a super ride from champion jockey Hugh Bowman who positioned Cristal Breeze three wide with cover from his outside alley and found the back of stablemate Animate coming to the turn. From there the gelding was able to turn the tables on race favourite Pandano (Paul Perry), who hit the lead early in the straight, from their Qualifier clash and prevail by a narrow margin. There was a line up for third place with Kembla Grange mare Liveinthefastlane (Robert & Luke Price) following Cristal Breeze home into the minor spot.

Race Record: 1-21.80 SERENE MISS 2018


2021 Winner: Cristal Breeze
2nd Pandano
3rd Liveinthefastlane
Time/Track 1:22.97 (Good 4)

2020 Winner: Through The Cracks
2nd Moana Jewel
3rd Oxford Tycoon
Time/Track 1:26.00 (Heavy 8)

2019 Winner: Bobbing
2nd Spring Charlie
3rd Chalmers
Time/Track 1:22.37 (Soft 5)

2018 Winner: Serene Miss
2nd Newsfan
3rd Plaisir
Time/Track 1:21.80 (Good 4)

2017 Winner: Maryore
2nd Better Not Blue
3rd Ziganui
Time/Track 1:25.73 (Heavy 8)

2016 Winner: Danish Twist
2nd Powerline
3rd His Majesty
Time/Track 1:23.91 (Soft 6)

2015 Winner: Sure And Fast
2nd Electric Power
3rd Oxford Poet
Time/Track 1:24.30 (Heavy)