2017 Country Championships

Launched in 2015, the inaugural Country Championships proved a resounding success for the racing industry and generated unprecedented interest and coverage.

An initiative of Racing NSW and supported by the Government of NSW, The Country Championships was created to support and promote NSW racing in country areas, ensuring that horses from across the state are part of The Championships in Sydney in the autumn.

About The Series

  • The Country Championships consists of a series of seven qualifying races, each held at a club representing one racing region in NSW.
  • Each race will be worth $150,000 in prize money, and will be contested by eligible horses that must be under the care of a country trainer in that region.
  • An eighth ‘Wild Card’ race, worth $50,000, will be held to provide one more opportunity for horses to qualify for the final that have already contested an earlier heat.
  • The first and second horse in each regional race will qualify for the $400,000 Country Championships final to be held at Royal Randwick in Sydney on Day 1 of The Championships, Saturday 1 April 2017.
Sunday, 12 February 2017 GRAFTON 1400m Northern Rivers
Saturday, 18 February 2017 GOULBURN 1400m South East
Sunday, 19 February 2017 DUBBO 1400m Western
Sunday 26 February 2017 TAREE 1400m Mid North Coast
Sunday, 5 March 2017 SCONE 1400m Hunter & North West
Sunday, 12 March 2017 WELLINGTON 1400m Central Districts
Sunday, 19 March 2017 ALBURY 1400m Southern Districts
Sunday 26 March 2017  MUSWELLBROOK 1280m Wildcard - All regions
Saturday, 1 April 2017 ROYAL RANDWICK 1400m FINAL