The title of unofficial world champion sprinter was up for grabs in the $2.5m TJ Smith Stakes on day one of The Championships.
The star trio of the field included last year’s winner Lankan Rupee, Terravista and Chautauqua who was looking for his first Group 1 win.
But there were also a number of other Group 1 winners in the field including Famous Seamus and Tiger Tees.
On a heavy surface, Chautauqua came from the rear of the field, ran past Terravista, and then ran down Lord Of The Sky to score in a photo for Team Hawkes.
Jockey Tommy Berry thought he’d given the emerging champ too much to do as he let him go at the top of the straight but his long sprint was enough to snatch victory and secure his first major race.


Encoster de Lago – Lovely Jubly

Winner – TJ Smith Stakes 2015
Trainer Michael Wayne & John Hawkes
Jockey Tommy Berry
Prizemoney Won $1,400,000
Lifetime Performance as at 01 December 2015
STARTS 1st 2nd 3rd
18 9 6 1

TJ Smith Stakes - Race Replay
2015 Winner Chautauqua, 2nd Lord of the Sky, 3rd Terravista,
Time/Track 1-11.04 (Soft 7)                     

Chautauqua (AUS)
Encosta de Lergo (AUS) Family King (USA) Northern Dancer (CAN)
Fairy Bridge (USA)
Shoal Creek (AUS) Star Way (GB)
Rolls (USA)
Lovely Jubly (AUS) Lion Hunter Danehill (USA)
Pure of Heart (IRE)
Jaboulet (NZ) Vice Regal (NZ)
Avadell (NZ)