The Star Doncaster Mile

First run in 1866, the Doncaster Mile is one of Australia’s most famous races and it is considered the mile championship of Australian racing. The Doncaster has been won by many of the best gallopers ever to race in Australia. Past winners include Tobin Bronze (1967), Super Impose (1990-1991), Sunline (1999 and 2002) and more recently, the mighty mare Winx (2016).

Race Record: 1-33.70 BELMURA LAD (NZ) 1979 


1st Winx
2nd Happy Clapper
3rd Azkadellia (NZ)
Time/Track 1:35.27 (Soft)

1st Kermadec (NZ)
2nd Real Impact (JPN)
3rd Royal Descent
Time/Track 1:37.61 (Soft)

View Kermadec’s Champion Profile


1st Sacred Falls (NZ)
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Weary (FR)
Time/Track 01:39.59 (Heavy)
View Sacred Falls’ Champion Profile

Main Contenders



Read More
Le Romain

Le Romain

Read More
Comin' Through

Comin' Through

Read More


Read More

Doncaster Lead-up Races

George Ryder Stakes; It’s no fluke that nine of the last 16 Doncaster Mile winners had their lead up run in the George Ryder. Run under weight for age conditions means not only is the winner exempt from ballot into the Doncaster but also exempt from penalty. The George Ryder provides the perfect two week lead up into the Doncaster and allows horses to round off their preparations by tackling the 1500m Rosehill Gardens circuit.

George Ryder Result and Replay
1st Winx
2nd Le Romain
3rd Chautauqua
Time/Track 1:34.87 (Heavy 10)

Ranvet Stakes; The other traditional route to the Doncaster comes through the 2000m Ranvet Stakes. There’s no question that the Randwick mile is unlike any other mile course across Australia and many believe, perhaps none more so than Gai Waterhouse, that to figure in the finish of a Doncaster, a horse must be able to run 2000m. Also two weeks out from the Doncaster this weight for age event is run at Rosehill Gardens on Golden Slipper Day.


Ranvet Stakes Result and Replay
1st Our Ivanhowe
2nd Hartnell
3rd The United States
Time/Track 2:10:62 (Heavy 10)

Canterbury Stakes; The traditional lead up event to the Group One George Ryder often see competitors fine tuning their Doncaster campaign. The natural progression in distance from the 1300m weight for age event to the 1500m George Ryder and then the 1600m Doncaster makes it the ideal race for the top line contenders to contest. It was the path Sacred Falls took on route to his second consecutive Doncaster victory in 2014. Additionally, the winner is exempt from ballot for both the George Ryder and Doncaster Mile.


Canterbury Stakes Result and Replay
1st Le Romain
2nd Chautauqua
3rd Hauraki
Time/Track 1:20.00 (Heavy 10)

Chipping Norton Stakes; With the winner being exempt from ballot for the Doncaster and Sydney Cup, the famous Chipping Norton Stakes is always in the minds of trainers preparing an assault on The Championships. Inaugurated in 1925 and worth $600,000 in 2017 the Group One weight for age event is a race won by some of the most famous horses in Australian horse racing history with the honour roll consisting of names like Phar Lap, Tulloch, Emancipation, Octagonal, Tie the Knot and more recently, Winx.

Chipping Norton Result and Replay
1st Winx
2nd Lasqueti Spirit
3rd Who Shot Thebarman
Time/Track 1:40.37 (Heavy 9)