James McDonald Lands The Nathan Berry Medal

By Mark Brassel

Some outstanding riding performances by James McDonald over the two days of The Star Championships at Royal Randwick has given him his second Nathan Berry Medal.

McDonald booted home just the one winner during today’s finale to The Championships, but his 14 points was enough to get him home, just three points in advance of Kerrin McEvoy.

McDonald won aboard Wild Ruler in the Arrowfield 3yo Sprint but accumulated points with placings on Pandano (Polytrack Provincial Championships Final), Bargain (The Star Australian Oaks) and Verry Elleegant (Longines Queen Elizabeth Stakes).

“The Nathan Berry Medal is regarded as one of the most prestigious awards in racing and honours a popular young man who was highly respected by all throughout our industry,” said Racing NSW Chief Executive, Peter V’landys AM.

“Our congratulations go to James McDonald who is one of the world’s best riders and is a deserved winner.” McDonald had previously tied with Tommy Berry in 2014 in the inaugural Nathan Berry Medal.

The Nathan Berry Medal is awarded to the most successful jockey over the 12 races of The Championships and pays tribute to the former top jockey who passed away in early April 2014.

Nathan was 23-years-of-age and had great success riding 351 winners with his biggest win aboard Unencumbered in the Magic Millions in January 2014.

The Nathan Berry Medal point score is determined on a 3-2-1 basis across the 10 Group races as well as the Finals of the Country and Provincial Championships.

14 - James McDonald
11 - Kerrin McEvoy
9 - Tommy Berry
7 - Tom Marquand
5 - Hugh Bowman
3 - Ron Stewart, Jamie Kah, John Allen
2 - Andrew Adkins, Craig Williams, Ryan Maloney, Jason Collett, Jay Ford, Brenton Avdulla, Nick Heywood
1 - Glen Boss, Jason Holder, Grant Buckley